Your Average Critic

The place I rant

超级星光大道 第七届精选 Golden Picks of Xing Guang Da Dao Season 7

with 2 comments

Updated: 24/12/2010

Here are my Top 10 most favourite performances from Xing Guang Da Dao 7 超级星光大道 第七届 as per 24/12/2010. I will be expecting more and more videos into this Top 10 so some videos may be in danger of being out of rank but I will continue giving them subsequent ranks of 11th 12th etc as a recognition that they were once at the top. Oh yea, the rank may change too. You know how sometimes after watching a certain video repeatedly you realise that the performance wasnt as good as you thought it was or was much better than the first impression.

Presenting the Top 10 most favourite performances by YAC. (Disclaimer- Yes. The females generally have an advantage because being a guy, I get more attracted to the women’s performances easier.)

10th: 蔡憶雯:我愛過


I was torn between many songs because I felt many songs were worthy to be mentioned! And I really didn’t want my top 10 to be spammed with songs by the contestants that went pretty far in the competition so my choice was between this song, 陳廷婷’s Bad Boy and 孟祺馨’s Poker Face. But Vivian 蔡憶雯’s(Cai Yi Wen) version of 我愛過 got the edge because she managed to make the feeling of gratefulness to the thickest level in a Hokkien song which was something refreshing to me.

9th: 鄭盈盈:I still believe


When I knew Yane鄭盈盈(Zhen Ying Ying) was going to sing this song , I thought oh man, no way it was going to be as nice as Mariah’s or even Rose 劉明湘’s version(which was one of the best performances in the program in my opinion). Then when it was shown, it was just as I expected. Nothing worth 27marks I thought. But after many weeks since this performance was uploaded, I have been unknowingly going back to view it again and I find the rendition getting more and more interesting! True enough there were hell lots of running notes that sounded too diva-ish and too much techniques incorporated into the song but IT SOUNDED FRESH. The rendition just stamped 鄭盈盈 鄭盈盈 鄭盈盈 all over! And that is what I feel live performances should be about -different from the CD or how the original singer sings! Did I mention that I am getting the addiction of the whistle sound in this?

8th: Erika:寫一首歌


True enough that Erika has repeatedly belted out fantastic english songs that gained her 29 27 and all the high scoring results but it is this one chinese performance from Erika that went into my heart. I don’t understand why some feel that this is too average. To me, the 口气 is there, the feeling is there and of course the smile is there (I love how Erika is always enjoying every performance. Simply magical). And I felt she was quite cheeky and adventurous in this attempt which was something lacking in several contestants. Thumbs up Erika!

7th: 陳美嬌:人生的歌


We all know about Bee Keow 陳美嬌’s(Chen Mei Jiao) life story. She is an Indian who got adopted by a Chinese family in Malaysia. She sang her life song out and just as expected, she aced it! The song had so much feelings in it! I could feel the pain and melancholy she was feeling at times but yet the kind of bliss she experienced with her adopted family was showcased in the song too. It was a complicated roller coaster ride just by hearing this song and I must say I really felt like tearing at the end of the video which was coupled with all the photos she had.

6th: 李佳薇:難得


Jess 李佳薇 (Li Jia Wei) has been consistently belting out songs that allowed her to exhibit the powerhouse vocals she had. This song 難得 did her justice because you could feel the strong rich vocals she had. In addition, the very 细腻 style of singing that Jess can perform! The song had so much details in it, it was barely the typical SHOUT SHOUT SCREAM SCREAM HIGHNOTE HIGHNOTE kind. It had much more than that which was exactly the reason why I love this performance so much. At 3:32 the line 爱没有回来了 was executed to the finest way possible – totally unpretentious. More chinese ballads please from this girl please!

5th: 孫曉亮:愛如潮水


Sun Xiao Liang 孫曉亮 is a front runner in this competition. But I never really got attracted to his performances except for this one. It was a refreshing rendition compared to the many 愛如潮水 we heard over these years. And I totally love the idea of choosing a song that is rather soothing in a nature and arrange it in a way such that much power can be shown! Thumbs up for the courage, the risk-taking and of course the singing. 2:56 我再也不能见你, 见你在深夜里徘徊 is way to epic!!! Now I feel the original 愛如潮水 is not complete without this powerful line =/

4th: 陳美嬌:愛你無條件


There is no way anyone who watch this season not noticing this! This is like one of THE SONG of season 7. It was like a breakthrough kind of thing. Hearing this pretty indian chick Bee Keow singing this song is just perfect. Surprise factor-Check. Emotions-Check. Singing Techniques-Check. Can someone tell me what is not good about this performance?

3rd: 施旭婧:問


I’m sorry. In the midst of everyone saying how Sisi Shi 施旭婧(Shi Xu Jing) is looks > singing, here comes this performance. I think this is a really heartfelt performance on her part. Heck the comments saying the song was too systematic. Heck the comments saying the rendition was “oily 油”. Because, I can feel the emotions. I like how the emotions change throughout the song. You can really hear a long story being told based on a short 3 minute video. Initially she started off being that girl that was hurt and struck by realization on how relationships seem to work. Later she moved on, told herself to be stronger, consoling herself that everything will go well before ending the story by being the same vulnerable girl waiting for the same guy she has always loved. This song is just…… wonderful. She portrayed the distinct lovely traits of female so wwweeelll. And by the way, having not heard this song before, I instantaneously fell in love with this song! You can’t go wrong here. Excellent rendition+melody+lyrics = EPIC. Totally an underrated and underscored performance!

2nd: 陳美嬌:不管有多苦


Once again, Bee Keow blew me away with this version. Who says she can ace chinese songs! This is one song that she can shut critics up. Right from the first line she sang, I went “Yes! This is it!”. Then the song got more and more exciting. The change from 假音 to 真音 back and forth was remarkable. Not only the notes were there, the feeling were there! I especially loveee the last line. It was such a beautiful ending to this song. And I love how the song was executed in a very soft way instead of a right-to-your-face way. Very interesting attempt. Anyway, what I really love about Bee Keow is you can see singing is what she really loves. She just sings heartedly without adding too much gimmicks and all the unnecessary techniques. She brought music back to the simplest form which was simply about emotions emotions and MORE emotions. She totally deserves to stay in the music industry and shine!

1st: 陳珂冰:愛上一個不回家的人


This must be a surpirse choice! I bet nobody expected Pink Tan 陳珂冰’s(Chen Ke Bin) 愛上一個不回家的人 to be so high up. Of course this young spicy girl had many good performances but what I love about this song is because it is so interesting. It brings the modern touch to this classic. I am usually really afraid of hearing people singing such classics because it gets SO BORING, SO ORDINARY AND SO MEH. Firstly, I appreciate Pink’s attempt to have her own style and phrasing for this song. Next, I feel the explosiveness in her voice regardless it was about explosion of emotions, volume, techniques or whatsoever. This song just gives people the extra OMPH when they hear. 1:26 天色已黄昏~~harrrr. The falsetto had this 画龙点睛 effect, meaning to say the falsetto brought this already wonderful rendition to an even HIGHER level musically in my opinion. The last chorus was no doubt exciting! In Singapore, the term “shiok” is widely used to express excitement and this song just went shiok shiok SHIOK SHIOK!!!!! Some of her designed additional notes work wonder here as well without being redundant or excessive. And lastly, not to mention, she looks soo pretty here =D

Pitching, Tempo, Grooving etc i know little. But as an audience, these are what I seek for. Pardon if anyone is unpleasant with the choices or the comments but I insist on my opinions =D I may have missed out several performances accidentally or I may have been a tad bias because most of these contestants are my favourites Hehe but… this is my site =D

SO what are your top 10 peformances this season?
Your Average Critic
YAC

Written by Your Average Critic (YAC)

December 23, 2010 at 7:18 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 推王雯眼泪。

    兔兔

    December 25, 2010 at 8:35 am

  2. […] at here. Additional information is that maybe rightfully, this song would have been higher but I’m […]


Leave a comment